Years: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

Munroe Regional Medical Center's ICU Becomes Four-Time Recipient of the Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence

Munroe Regional Medical Center is proud to announce that is Intensive Care Unit (ICU) has received the Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence for the fourth consecutive year. Munroe Regional's ICU is the only four-time Beacon Award recipient in the state of Florida and one of ony six inthe nation to receive this distinction four or more times. The Beacon Award is given twice yearly by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). The award is specifically designated to recognize the nation's top pediatric, progressive and adult critical care units across a multitude of hospitals.

As a Beacon Award recipient, Munroe Regional's ICU succeeded in the following areas, as measured against evidence-based national criteria:

  • Recruitment and retention.
  • Education, training and mentoring.
  • Research and evidence-based practice.
  • Patient outcomes.
  • Leadership and organization ethics.
  • Healing environment.

"Our Intensive Care Unit has proven once again that they are one of the nation's leading critical care units by earning the Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence for the four consecutive year," said Pam Michell, RN, Vice President, Chief Nursing Officer at Munroe Regional Medical Center. "The Beacon Award recognition is rewarding to Munroe and our team of ICU nurses, as it validates the extraordinary comittment to high-quality critical care standards and to the exceptional care our ICU teamprovides to our patients and their families."

Beacon Award units realize many benefits of having met rigid criteria for excellence, high-quality standards and exceptional care of patients and patients' familes:

  • Influence and Recognition: Units that participate in the Beacon Award process help set the standards for what constitutes an excellent acute or critical care environment through the collection of evidence-based information. Patient safety and quality programs, such as the Leapfrog Group Hospital Quality and Safety Survey, consider Beacon achievement in their evaluation process.

  • Credibility: Consumers, who are paying much closer attention today to quality-of-care factors with respect to their own healthcare, will take this level of recognition into consideration when choosing a hospital for care or treatment.

  • Recruitment and Retention:Prospective employees will recognize a Beacon Award unit as a healthy work environment, a place where quality of care is tied directly to quality of staff. Nurses who work in these units will recognize that their skills and expertise are appreciated and valued, boosting employee morale.

For more information on the Beacon Award or AACN, call (800) 899-2226. Applicants are not required to be a member of AACN to apply for the Beacon Award. Application information and requirements are available at Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence.

For more information, please contact Ryan Gerds, Public Information Officer, at (352) 402-5206 or by email at